Su Casa

Following my less-than-satisfied experience at Meet Lobo, I was offered another chance to try out another private kitchen, Su Casa. Before I go on, I should probably explain that my definition of a “private kitchen” is any dining area open to the public in old residential buildings (and usually not ground floor) and is run by a family … sort of.

But Su Casa is slightly different. They fall somewhere between a private kitchen and a real restaurant. Their operation is slightly bigger, meaning they have more (hired) staff, seats more people than a private kitchen and operate like a small restaurant. What’s more is Su Casa has a sister restaurant over in Henry House called Casa Fina and together they form the Casa Group.

Hmm … not quite so private I think.

Anyway, this gem of a restaurant is my latest find (recommended by my brother) that has a comfortable ambiance, has an attentive staff team, excellent (I don’t use this word lightly) food and most importantly, reasonable prices (perhaps even borderline cheap for what it is).

I almost don’t want to share with you, but judging from its fine food, I’m sure it’ll pick up and thought if anyone should tell you, it’ll be ME!!! Okay, we had for 5 people:

  • 2.5 X dozen of Oysters (buy 1 get 1 free, which ends up being something like HK$17 each, which is unheard of in HK unless you go to buffets dinners)
  • 2 X Escargots
  • 1 X Fish Soup
  • 2 X Caesar Salad
  • 2 X Moscato D’Asti (at HK$350 each)
  • 2 X Grilled Razor Clam
  • 2 X Foie Gras Linguine
  • 2 X Half Lobsters

And I’ll try to describe each in a little more detail.

15 Types of Oysters to Choose From!

15 Types of Oysters to Choose From!

Oyster Platter 1

Oyster Platter 1

Oyster Platter 2

Oyster Platter 2

I can’t quite remember what we got, but I think it might’ve been Utah Beach, Coffin Bay, Scotland Pearl and something else. Regardless, these oysters are extremely fresh … and, well I guess they taste like fresh oysters. I can never, for the life of me, describe different oysters like I do with wine. I guess I’m not quite there yet. (Btw, I had a really bad experience with oysters at Louis Steak House a couple months ago, just thought you’d know).

Escargot at Su Casa

Escargot at Su Casa

These escargots weren’t bad … but they’re – and I believe this for all escargot – they taste the same everywhere you go whether the restaurant is fancy or not, whether its expensive or not. Is there only 1 way to make escargot? I don’t think so, but this is the “safe” way to make them … jab them into a bed of mashed potatoes, put a chuck of butter and minced garlic and spice on top of each escargot, shove it in the oven and you’re good to go.

Wine List from Su Casa

Wine List from Su Casa

We chose the Bersano Moscato D’Asti, which was a little sweet for me but turned out my family loved it and thought it went well with the oysters.

Caesar Salad from Su Casa

Caesar Salad from Su Casa

I thought the Caesar Salad was done just right with the right amount of dressing (not too much), right amount of bacon bits, Parmesan shaves and large croutons. I love large croutons.

Foie Gras Linguine at Su Casa (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!)

Foie Gras Linguine at Su Casa (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!)

Next up is the foie gras linguine! I’m a huge fan of foie gras and pasta separately … imagine what this must’ve been like for me!

This dish kind of reminds me of the Sea Urchin Spaghetti I had at Robuchon a while ago … not quite as thick and creamy, but comparable in satisfaction and cholesterol level. Quoting my friend Vince who also had a similar dish in Thailand, “… foie gras pasta, which was just a hunk of nicely seared foie gras on top of the pasta … but I took my knife and fork and mashed up the foie gras to incorporate it into the whole pasta …”, only here, they mashed up the duck liver for you already (including generous amount of mix mushrooms),  giving ample time for the linguine and mushroom to really absorb the juice, fat and oil for the foie gras.

I highly recommend this dish to those of you who decides to visit.

Grilled Lobster at Su Casa

Grilled Lobster at Su Casa

The last dish was a grilled lobster (or rather, half a grilled lobster) which is quite fresh and was cooked just right. Definitely not tender or dry – in fact was quite the opposite. The dish also came with broccoli mashed potatoes, broccolis, cauliflower and asparagus on the side.

And the bill came up to HK$2,550 (or thereabouts). The restaurant does not charge an extra 10% service charge and they only take cash (Perhaps, and I’m only speculating, a reason why they’re able to offer you such good quality at such competitive rates? A little grey area here and there? … Maybe? I’m guessing, I don’t know.)

If it weren’t for the 2 bottles of wine, the bill would’ve only been HK$1,800 for 5 people = HK$300 each for oysters, escargot, razor clams, foie gras pasta and lobsters?! Mi Casa, Su Casa 🙂 Oh, don’t worry, I’ll make myself at home alright! No problem!

Note: Photos taken with a BlackBerry Curve 8900

Siu Yeh Rating: 9/10
Special Remarks: Very reasonable prices, courteous staff team, comfortable environment, decor is average

Su Casa
2/F., No. 2 Sun Wui Road
Causeway Bay, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 2805 7031

Also …

Casa Fina
13/F., Henry House
42 Yun Ping Road
Causeway Bay, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 2504 2928

Leave a Reply

