Yomama So Fat, She …

… sorry, I just had to do it. Lame, I know. The name was just begging me to do it. But its good branding, no? Its sticky. “Let’s go to … Yomama!” … “Umm … What d’you call me?!”

I have to say though, I wasn’t a big fan of yoghurt ice cream. I love the plain old rich and milky-type of ice cream (i.e. Haagen Dazs, Ben & Jerry’s, Movenpick, etc.) and when I went to Yomama for the first time a couple weeks ago, I had the Green Tea flavour (regular size) with Nata De Coco toppings and didn’t think too much of it. I don’t usually eat yoghurt, especially not the ones that’s a bit sour and there’s a hint of that in this ice cream. Coupled with Green Tea (that is, Sour Green Tea now) flavour, I thought its a little weird. It wasn’t a bad experience though.

Yo Mama Frozen Yoghurts - 2 Flavours so far ...

Yo Mama Frozen Yoghurts - 2 Flavours so far ...

Toppings & Condiments at Yo Mama 1

Toppings & Condiments at Yo Mama 1

Toppings & Condiments at Yo Mama 2

Toppings & Condiments at Yo Mama 2

Then, I went there again last night and this time, I had the original flavour (Vanilla) and with 2 toppings: Nata De Coco (sorry, I love that stuff) and Mango. Not very adventurous … I know, but I already like it a little more.

Original Flavour + Fresh Strawberries + Mochi (Left) & Original Flavour + Fresh Mango + Nata de Coco (Right)

Original Flavour + Fresh Strawberries + Mochi (Left) & Original Flavour + Fresh Mango + Nata de Coco (Right)

Yomama’s got a bit of a cult following I think. I know people who would go there at least once a week and nephews of a good friend of mine go there every night after dinner. So I’ve come to the conclusion that I don’t like it as much as most people do because I’ve been ordering the wrong combo. Next time, I should just pile it on and get like 8 toppings … or perhaps try their recommended combo (picture below):

Customer Fave-futt

Customer Fave-futt

Hmm … Shaved Chocolate, Coco Pops, Oreos, Granola & Chocolate Syrup. It’ll be a large size and I’ll probably add some more M&M’s, Mochi & Nata De Coco on top of what they’ve suggested. Then I’ll take out a MARS bar that I’ll have brought with me and shove it in. Dinner is served. I shall call it, *drum roll* … The Siu Yeh Boogie.

Note: Photos taken with a Blackberry Curve 8900

Siu Yeh Rating: 7/10 and increasing

Yo Mama
16 Wing Fung Street
Wanchai, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 2865 5600
Fax: +852 2865 5700

2 Responses

  1. glad you enjoyed it 🙂

    blueberries, mochi and shaved chocolate it is a good combo!!!

  2. If you didn’t think Yo Mama was creamy enough, you should try Berrygood! (www.berrygoodhk.com)
    Berrygood has more flavors and a much more substantial texture than Yo Mama, and they have pretty rich toppings, such as Reese’s PB cups, chocolate cake, etc.
    I’m a yogurt fan, so trust me on this – Berrygood beats Yo Mama hands down!

Leave a Reply

