Are You Cool Enough for Drinks at ZUMA?! Talk to The Hand!

Gee, this blogging thing really is a full-time job isn’t it?

I just realized I haven’t written anything in about 2 weeks! A week into this “honeymoon” period, I was already feeling a little guilty … subconsciously, I wanted to see how long I can go for without updating Siu Yeh. The threshold is 2 weeks people … TWO. WEEKS. I guess laziness got the better of me too … actually, I kept taking pictures whereever and whenever I ate, but I just haven’t gotten around to writing it. Now I have a backlog of about 1.5 month’s (45 entries) worth of stuff to write about … err, stay tuned.

Anyway. Yes. Zuma.

Known for its vast selection of rare drinks and innovative cocktails, Zuma “brings a sophisticated twist on the traditional Japanese Izayaka style of informal eating and drinking.” Yeeeahh, I can sort of see that. The place definitely fits the description of trendy and upscale but doesn’t quite hit me as pretentious (even though its “located at Hong Kong’s most pretigious address”) although they’re not far from the line. In fact, it was pretty chill just sitting at the lounge, mingling with friends … it wasn’t cozy per se, just … comfortable. Apparently they shuffle around their furnitures every now and then (or so I was told anyway) just to give people a different vibe when return customers visit.

And traditional Japanese with a sophisticated twist it was. The first thing that caught my eyes were “Sparkling Sake”. How often do you hear that? It was my first. I had to get it.

Sparkling Sake, Kotsuzumi, Sparkling (Yuzu Flavour)

Sparkling Sake, Kotsuzumi, Sparkling (Yuzu Flavour)

The quality of the photos taken with the my new *ahem* BlackBerry Curve 8900 is pretty darn good, huh? I was pretty amazed myself … and that flash (in that environment we were in) was blinding. I kid you not. Go RIM! Go Waterloo!

Here’s how the Kotsuzumi was served. In an equally Japanese-y Japanese wooden box and in it, the Yuzu sparkling sake with Japanese writing on the label that looked almost like it was written in Egytian hieroglyphs. This sophistication was too much for me to handle. I am a young, energetic, dare-I-say trendy (and good-looking) individual born, bred and lived in Hong Kong 75% of my life … but clearly, at Zuma, I felt like I came from the boonies just yesterday.

Yuzu Sparkling Sake at Zuma

Yuzu Sparkling Sake at Zuma

And to add salt to the wound, Yuzu (as the ultra-hip would know) has apparently been quite the cult ingredient lately. Yuzu is a Japanese citrus that tastes like a mix of lemon and lime.

We took a whiff from the opened bottle and it smelled like the ginger aroma oil from Thai massage/spa! Seriously. Anyway, they serve the sake in double-shot glasses (tall ones) that are chilled, which was a nice touch … and nothing short of what I would expect from a place like that. Once you drink it though, the imaginary ginger smell goes away, but came the citrus taste (more citrus than lime I would say). It was also a little too sweet for my liking.

Zuma Signature Cocktails

Zuma Signature Cocktails

My second drink was the Rubabu, which is a “rhubarb infused sake shaken with 42 Below vodka and fresh passion fruit” … served as a martini. What the heck is a rhubarb anyway? Gotta Wiki …

(don’t you love how this is like real time?)

A Rhubarb.

Right, okay … I didn’t taste that at all. Not that I would know anyway. What I did taste (and liked) was the strong passion fruity scent and taste. Again, this was a little too sweet but there’s a bit of sourness to it too, which was a good touch … not by the bartender, but probably the passion fruit itself.

After I was done with the drink, I also felt my oestrogen level hit an all-time high.

Rubabu at Zuma

Rubabu at Zuma

In a nutshell, I was a man from the city going into Zuma. I left feeling like a woman from the countryside.

Siu Yeh Rating: 8/10

Note: Photos taken with BlackBerry Curve 8900

Zuma
The Landmark, Level 5 & 6
15 Queen’s Road
Central, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 3657 6388
Fax: +852 3657 6399
Website: www dot zumarestaurant dot com/zuma_hk.html

3 Responses

  1. zuma zuma yum yum. i go to the one here in London whenever my parents are here.. they like live at that restaurant.

    yay im glad i’m not hte only one with 2394839 backlog posts 😀

  2. i loveeee rhubarb. have you ever tried rhubarb pie? deelisssssssh

  3. well well, what have we here? a little shameless self-promotion!!!

    let’s check the facts, shall we:

    young – check
    energetic – check
    trendy – debatable
    good-looking – if you don’t say so yourself!

    random thought – would the rubabu go well with magic berries? a tad too sweet, perhaps.

    v

Leave a Reply

