Baby Shower Crashers

So I recently got into the business of crashing baby showers. There, I get to take food blogging and my taste buds to a completely new playing field by challenging my taste buds using unconventional items such as:

  1. Baby food
  2. Ingredients placed in diapers

Subconsciously, I actually think this would help me pin-point distinctive ingredients and taste from food and especially from wine. Afterall, you know, I have to be on top of my game in food blogging (rolls eyes) and leave my competitors behind!!!

HAHA okay … in all seriousness, baby shower yes, crashing no and I had no clue we were going to play these games …

Blind Tasting Baby Foods

Blind Tasting Baby Foods

Anyway, we played this game where the containers for the baby food was taped up so none of us could see what they really are (only the host knew) and we’re supposed to guess what the food is made from, using only our senses … basically. Have you tried baby food? Man … what an awful experience … I mean, as healthy as it is for toddlers, it was bland and well, “porridgy”. But then again, if wouldn’t be healthy if it tasted good … or can it? Here’s a business idea for you. Yes, you.

The Guy Who Invented Crashing Baby Showers

The Guy Who Invented Crashing Baby Showers

This is Vince, the guy who started the baby shower crashing movement. Think what Will Farrell is to Owen Wilson in Wedding Crashers, what Vince is to me and you’ll get a feel for his awesomeness. He’s seen here figuring out what No. 3 is … and the answers were:

  1. Apple
  2. Cauliflower
  3. Banana
  4. Carrot
  5. Cauliflower/Potato/Parsnip

Can you imagine?! I don’t think I’ve ever had parsnip.

And for the next game, the host placed different ingredients in diapers (CLEAN diapers, mind you …) and we had to guess what’s in it:

Sniffing Ingredients in Daipers ...

Sniffing Ingredients in Diapers ...

Here, a group of grown adults can be seen taking whiffs from diapers. Luckily, the host’s 3-year-old daughter didn’t catch us doing that, otherwise there’s be quite a bit of explaining to do.

The answers to that game was:

  1. Prune Sauce
  2. Curry Paste
  3. Mustard
  4. Caramel
  5. Seafood Sauce
  6. Vinaigrette

How did I do? Well, let’s just say … as a food blogger, I should’ve done better.

But this was good training. Blindfold me and gimme anything (food) to sniff and I’ll tell you what it is, anyday.

I rock.

Hahah … my first baby shower … it was good times.

Leave a Reply

