Yee Shun Milk Company

Siu Yeh Alert: Bad Review

So after having tried Australia Dairy Company, naturally, I thought maybe Yee Shun Milk Company would be similar. I was sadly mistaken.

To begin, the 10+ servers in the empty restaurant were late (or lazy) to respond to my repeated requests for the menu. They all gathered at the back of the restaurant eating chocolates … and when I was finally able to make my order, the lady didn’t seem like she knew what was going on. I had asked for plain macaroni in soup, sausages, SCRAMBLED eggs, and toasts. Since that wasn’t a set in the menu, she had to *reluctantly* ask her manager how to input the order into the computer system.

I thought, the folks at Australia Dairy Company are rude, but at least they’re efficient! I much prefer that than what I was experiencing here.

Anyway, the food came relatively quickly, but I was served fried eggs and no toasts. The lady came to me with 2 pieces of toasts in a plastic bag and apologized because the kitchen thought the toasts were “to go”. Then she threw me 1 of the 2 pieces and walked off.

I quickly finished off the macaroni in soup (with a hint of sesame oil) and the sausages … nothing to write home about. Then I went on to work on the FRIED eggs … at this point, I didn’t even want to bother with them … I just wanted to leave. Anyway, the fried eggs were pretty bad … it tasted weird (not just melamine-weird, but something was wrong with their cooking oil). What’s worse was the egg seemed like it was cut from a large sheet of fried egg … that really turned me off.

I want to give them the benefit of the doubt. Maybe I ordered all the wrong food; afterall, they had the Portuguese Pork Buns on their posters (assuming that’s their signature dish) … and of course their steamed milk. But if they can’t get a simple order done correctly … I’m not quite sure about all their other stuff.

Will I visit the place again? Unlikely.

Yee Shun Milk Company Menu & Prices

Yee Shun Milk Company Menu & Prices

Plain Macaroni in Soup, Egg, Sausages & Toast

Plain Macaroni in Soup, Egg, Sausages & Toast

Long story short, Yee Shun Milk Company is not very good.

Siu Yeh Rating: 1/10

5 Responses

  1. did you try their steamed milk? it’s the best in HK. not good that you got bad service though

  2. Hi Anna,

    Thanks for the message! Yeh I didn’t get to try their steamed milk … so maybe I should give them the benefit of the doubt and give Yee Shun another shot … 🙂 Please let me know if you’ve got some other suggestions … I’m always open to recommendations! Cheers

  3. Is this Yee Shun in Causeway Bay, Perceival? Street? I think I ate there once in 2002, first time in my life. I thought their dun lai was bland.

    • Good question … I’m not sure if the one on Percival Street is still there, but this one in particular is a new branch on Hennessy Road (near Canal Road and the bridge). Cheers

  4. The Yee Shun on Nathan Road (by Yaumatei MTR exit C on Man Ming Lane) is very good. I would only go for the steamed milk (plain, chocolate and coffee are all very good options — I prefer the cold versions but some friends prefer hot for a stronger “milk” taste) and maybe the porkchop buns and toasts.

Leave a Reply

