Po Po Gourmet Hot Pot (寶哥味館)

Most hot pots I’ve had anywhere are only so-so. Some places might have 1 or 2 dishes that is/are the restaurant’s “specialty dishes” and that’s pretty much their selling point. My favorite hot pot restaurant had always been 方榮記沙爹牛肉專家 (Fong Wing Kee in Cantonese or Fang Rong Ji in Mandarin) in Kowloon City but they would still fall under that category I had just mentioned; their specialty dish is the “hand-cut” beef (手切牛肉) and their famous satay soup base.

Then I was told about this place called Po Po Gourmet (寶哥味館) and apparently, this restaurant was mentioned by So See Wong (sp?) or 蘇施黃, who is a famous food critic in Hong Kong. Unfortunately, I’m not a big fan and my visiting Po Po Gourmet was based on my friend’s recommendation.

Anyway, just about every dish we had was awesome. We had sour cucumbers and fish cakes as appetizers; the latter was delicious; not quite Thai fish cake-style, but it was good. Then we had sliced beef, beef cubes, really fish-skin dumplings (魚皮餃), fish-balls (靚魚球), squid balls (墨魚丸) and pork.

I was a little skeptical about the pork at first, but it turned out, I suspect, to be Pig’s Neck pork (朱頸肉), which is the best part 🙂 As you can see from the marbling on the sliced and cubed beef, it was very juicy and then those fish-skin dumplings … were the best ones I’ve had (ever even than the ones from Nam Kee (南記粉麵) and that’s saying quite a bit.

Unfortunately, the satay soup base wasn’t quite up to par, but I’m very impressed with the quality of the food. It is because the food was so fresh, it didn’t matter how the soup tasted, I just stuck everything in the plain soup base anyway.

But if there’s one wish I could make, it is for Po Po Gourmet Hot Pot to somehow acquire the satay soup base from Fong Wing Kee … then THAT would be the hot pot place to go to. Oh, and did I also mention that this place is a place to see and a place to be seen? Lots of eye candies …

Plum Juice (酸梅湯)

Plum Juice (酸梅湯)

One of the best damn fish cakes I've ever had

One of the best damn fish cakes I

Fresh Cucumber with Sour Sauce

Fresh Cucumber with Sour Sauce
Not Just Any Fresh Fried Garlic!

Not Just Any Fresh Fried Garlic!

Preparing the sauce that's going to make my food dance!

Preparing the sauce that

Preparing the sauce thats going to make my food dance!

Preparing the sauce thats going to make my food dance!

High Quality Beef

High Quality Beef

REALLY good fish-skin dumplings (�皮餃)

REALLY good fish-skin dumplings (魚皮餃)

Marbled Beef Cubes and Pork

Marbled Beef Cubes and Pork

The Yin Yang Soup Base

The Yin Yang Soup Base

Note: Photos taken with iPhone.

Po Po Gourmet Hot Pot (寶哥味館) Happy Valley
Shop 2, On G/F. & 2/F., Fortuna Court
No. 1 Wong Nai Chung Road
Happy Valley, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 2573 2283
Fax: +852 2573 2383

Po Po Gourmet Hot Pot (寶哥味館) Hung Hom
G/F., No. 71-73, Man Tai Street
Hung Hom, Kowloon
Tel: +852 2330 1979
Fax: +852 2330 1879

方榮記沙爹牛肉專家
香港九龍城侯王道85-87號
Tel: +852 2382 1788

Leave a Reply

