Dakota Prime Now Open in Hong Kong!

Edit: New Entry on Dakota Prime (December 5, 2008)
The talk of the town last night was the grand opening of Dakota Prime, a steak house … that apparently isn’t really a steak house. Their slogan is “Hong Kong’s first ‘Anti-steakhouse’ steakhouse” and when I asked what that really means, the simple answer I got was: “Well … we serve seafood too”
The poor branding didn’t stop the crowd from checking out this new restaurant, which falls under the Prive Group portfolio.
I got in at around 9:30 and was satisfied to find that there was a free flow of most alcoholic beverages; champagne, red wine, white wine, branded water, etc. and the servers were very attentive to making sure everyone had a full glass of whatever they were drinking. A sign that their service is equally as attentive when they restaurant begin operating? Perhaps, let’s wait and see 🙂
Dakota Prime Grand Opening Invitation
Dakota Prime Grand Opening Invitation
Grand Opening at Dakota Prime

Grand Opening at Dakota Prime

Chefs at Dakota Prime

Chefs at Dakota Prime

View from my Seat

View from my Seat

What’s even more impressive is that the restaurant was serving steaks and mini-burgers (with mini steaks inside) for tasting, which I can only smell and hear about … but never tasted. The restaurant was so packed that I can only hear about how good the steak was, without ever setting my eyes on them. Rumors began to spread that guests were infiltrating the kitchen so get their hands on the first pieces of beef that comes off the grill.

Alas, the free-flow champagne got the better of me … but that’s because I had an empty stomach.

Now I know when “Kobe” and “Wagyu” is overused and tried, you need to come up with other places that serve “fine beef” and I’m guessing that is where “Dakota” comes into play. In any case, it looks like Dakota Prime is off to a good start. They did especially well with hiring those 2 hotties who dealt with the guest list last night by the VIP lift.

Disclaimer: The author of this blog is acquainted with one of the investors of Dakota Prime.

Dakota Prime
7/F., LKF Hotel, 33 Wyndham Street
Central, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 2526 2366
www dot dakotaprime dot hk

2 Responses

  1. […] I went there tonight with high expectations (I haven’t had a chance to come back since its grand opening) and the experience had probably exceeded my […]

Leave a Reply

