Why is Glass-bottled Coke Better?

People often say Coke tastes better coming from a glass bottle. I believe, or my taste buds led me to believe, that Coke does in fact, taste better in glass packaging. But why is that? I found a thread on answerbag and here are some response to the question “Why does Coke in a glass bottle taste better?”

  • For me it holds in the flavor better
  • they say that if you drop a penny into a glass of coke that it will dissolve in a few days,maybe the acid content in coke absorbs some of the metal of the cans
  • It’s true, no clue why. The same applies to beer, better in glass.
  • Coke is so acidic it must react with the metal can and that adds to the flavor or takes away some of the good taste. Glass is very neutral. It doesn’t add or subtract from food.
  • mind over matter.
  • It is true, looks like it has to do with metal versus glass. Metal will make a chemical reaction with the carbonation that doesn’t happen in the glass bottle. The biggest difference in taste that I find is in the Grape and Orange Sodas, like Fanta.
  • I don’t know but it really does.
  • I woulld have to agree that it’s because glass is non-reactive with the Coke. Where the metal will react if it’s not coated. and the formula for Coke was made to be stored in glass so putting it in cans really isn’t good for it.
  • I agree it does, but the manufacturer states its the same exact ingredients. Its kind of like drinking milk from a glass milk bottle, instead of a plastic carton. Is it psychological? Maybe. My taste buds know the difference.
  • My Grandfather told me years ago that it was because the bottled Cokes had more syrup than the cans. I don’t see why they would use 2 slightly different formulas for Coke in bottles and cans, but I wouldn’t ever argue with PawPaw. He sold them for 50 years before he died. And, he was right about one thing for sure. The 6 1/2 oz. Coke in bottles had a better taste than in any other size. There was nothing better than sitting out in front of his grocery store, talking about the cows, or the hogs, or the daily news, and drinking a 6 1/2 oz. Coke with him. I miss him something fierce.
  • Regarding the “corrosive Coke comments,” most of that is nonsense. Coke (and other soft drinks” are far less corrosive than most fruit drinks, especially citrus. And, for the record, aluminum cans have two internal coats of a non-toxic transparent finish that prevents any corrosion and, more importantly, preserves the flavor of the beverage.
  • The other day I went to the World of Coke in Atlanta. As part of your admission price (too much) they give you a souvenir World of Coke 8 oz bottle of Coke in a 6.5 oz style bottle to take home. This Coke is bottled on sight in their slow bottling plant at the museum. Rather than keep it on a shelf as a “collectable”, I put it in the refrigerator and later drank it. I believe that was the best bottle of Coke I have had in years. I don’t know if it tasted so good because it was in a glass bottle or because it was so freshly made.
  • Because that’s your opinion

So which one really is true? I’m here to find out.

I emailed Coca-Cola Support at Coke.com (yes, as you can imagine, I really don’t have much to do …) and here’s a very “safe” / “Covers-all-angles” response from a very polite lady called Sheila, from “Industry and Consumer Affairs” at the Coca-Cola Company:

[Start Quote]

“Thank you for contacting The Coca-Cola Company about the taste of Coca-Cola classic.

The Coca-Cola Company works closely with all of the independently operated Coca-Cola bottling companies around the world to ensure that the quality and taste of our soft drinks are uniform, regardless of what kind of container they come in or where they are sold.

Although the ratio of syrup to water is the same in all containers, several factors may affect the taste of any sparkling beverage.  These factors are storage temperatures, length of storage time, frequent openings and the water used to make the products.  Any one of these factors, or any combination of them, may cause you to detect a different taste in the product.

We hope this information is helpful.  Should you have additional questions or comments, please feel free to contact us again.”

[End Quote]

And here’s my takeaway (read: strictly my OWN opinion) from the email:

“We are addressing Coca-Cola Classic only, so let’s not assume that what I am about to say applies to all the different flavors under the Coca-Cola brand, or subsidiary brands under The Coca-Cola Company.

We partner with local bottling companies and we try our best to apply stringent quality and taste control to ensure consistency throughout … but, whether these bottling companies really follow our guidelines, we don’t know.

Furthermore, I cannot confirm whether Coca-Cola in glass bottles really taste better (even though that might be true) because over 95% of all of our retail Coca-Cola Classic products are probably either in cans or plastic bottles. That means, if I tell you that our beverages taste better in glass packaging, we can reasonably expect a significant decrease in sales for our flagship product in aluminum and plastic packaging. I might as well pack my stuff and bid goodbye to my job.

Factors affecting the taste can be blamed on storage temperature, length of storage time, frequent openings and water used to make them. That also means, everything except for the last item has nothing to do with us and you can conveniently blame the water thing on local bottling companies. No, the different tastes in aluminum and plastic containers have nothing to do with chemicals from the beverage reacting with the elements, because that would be a big no-no.

Now that I’ve successfully fended off your question, please don’t ever put me on the spot again. Thank you.”

So, what’s the REAL answer? I am still trying to find out …

Bottled Coke is Better?

Bottled Coke is Better?

I can down this in about 3.24 seconds. Who’s up for a challenge?

One Response

  1. I feel the same. Glass-bottled coke takes the cake. Something about a ‘cleaner’ taste. Must be that melamine in the in a plastic bottle that ruins it for me. It’s bad from a can but even worse from a McDonald’s cup. I can taste the wax.
    I went to a coke museum in Sydney a long time ago. Bottomless coke servings. I couldn’t get beyond paper cup No.2.
    Insightful post, thanks.

Leave a Reply

