Australia Dairy Company

People often say the simplest food is usually the hardest to make … well.

I couldn’t agree more.

I can put together a decent sausage & fried egg instant noodle (university days have trained me well!). I can make a respectable grilled ham & cheese sandwich. And I can definitely make scrambled eggs … but are they any good?!

People seem to think Australia Dairy Company make the best scrambled eggs (or fried eggs, butter toasts, and ham macaroni / spaghetti for that matter) in town. So good, in fact, that this outlet in Jordan has a fan club on Facebook. (At the time of writing this blog, I’m well aware that Australia Dairy Company has appeared in countless other blogs, news articles and other medium … but having finally tried it again in what seemed like eons, I wanted to give my own two cents about the place)

I had deliberately traveled across the Harbour to Jordan just to see what the place is like now. It was 3PM on a Saturday afternoon and there were about 15-20 people waiting in line. The turnover is VERY quick and since I was alone, I was told to go in and wait.

If you think the attitude at Kau Kee (九記) is bad, think again. The staff at Australia Dairy Company are pretty rude, but they’re efficient and that’s what really matters. It took just 30 seconds from the moment I made my order, to food arriving right in front of me. My milk tea took a little longer, but I was definitely impressed with the speed. I was also told the staff all wear Rolexes, and so I took notice and surely, some of them really were wearing them. I immediately tried to search for recruitment notices, but couldn’t find any.

Anyway, back to the food. So why is the scrambled eggs so good you ask? Its so well balanced. Most scrambled eggs are dry and solidified. These are cooked so that a bit of the yolk is still running (just a little) and is lightly salted. Perfection.

I had the HKD 28 meal, which includes a “plate” of pork spaghetti in soup and a plate of scrambled eggs with 2 small pieces of ham and 2 pieces of thick toast with the right amount of butter. I added a cold milk-tea for an extra HKD 2. The whole meal was definitely not very filling, but it was just right.

So why is it called Australia Dairy Company? I supposed it started as a restaurant selling their famed “steamed milk” (it is very smooth and tasty), but I didn’t have it during this visit. Then again, I wonder where they get their milk from and whether their business suffered from the recently melamine-tainted milk incident …

Return visit? Definitely.

Australia Dairy Company (澳洲牛奶公司)
47 Parkes Street (near Jordan Road), Kowloon, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 2730 1356

2 Responses

  1. […] after having tried Australia Dairy Company, naturally, I thought maybe Yee Shun Milk Company would be similar. I was sadly […]

  2. I love Australia Dairy Company…my mother used to take me there after school when my siblings and I were little. It’s a big nostalgic trip for many HKers 🙂

    I still like to go regularly, but normally get takeout as the crowds inside drive me insane. The best thing is to get egg sandwiches (not toasted as they go soggy in the paper bags) and iced milk tea, and then walk down a couple of blocks to Kowloon Park or King George V Park to sit on a park bench to enjoy the food. Then you can feed any leftover breadcrumbs to the flocks of waiting sparrows. 🙂

Leave a Reply

