Wedding Banquet at Grand Hyatt

So, what do local 5-star hotels serve at wedding banquets nowadays anyway? I was invited to one tonight and I have to say, I was expecting a little more coming from Grand Hyatt – not that the food was bad – but I was looking forward to a little more variety and more innovative dishes, rather than the following:

Barbecued Whole Suckling Pig
Baked Sea Whelk Stuffed with Assorted Meat in Mild Curry Sauce
Wok-fried Scallops with Yunnan Ham and Vegetable
Braised Vegetables with Conpoy and Bamboo Pith
Braised Shark’s Fin with Crab Meat
Braised Sliced Abalone with Chinese Mushroom and Vegetable
Steamed Fresh Garoupa
Deep-fried Crispy Chicken
Fried Rice Wrapped in Lotus Leaf
Shrimp Wontons with Chive and Ginger
Red Bean Cream with Lotus Seeds and Lily Bulbs
Chinese Petits Fours
Chinese Tea

The service and decor was great of course, but the food might’ve missed the par. I blame mass production (The kitchen had to make enough of the same thing to serve over 350 guests!)

Anyway, what do you think of the photos? I was just fooling around with my new Nikon D60 🙂 the quality of the photos are pretty good, no?

Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Wanchai, Hong Kong

One Response

  1. I had a similar meal at a wedding I attend back in January at the Shangri-la located in Admiralty.

Leave a Reply

