Lan Fong Yuen (蘭芳園)

Next time you’re looking for a place to have breakfast around Lyndhurst Terrace in Central, look no further – I have just the place for you. It is called Lan Fong Yuen; a small restaurant, which serves local Hong Kong-style food such as “Western Toast” or “French Toast” (I know, despite the name, its authentically local!), “Stockings Milk Tea” (I know, it sounds nasty … but its really good!) and Pork Bun (I know, there’s always been a debate about whether this originated from HK or Macau) … among other things.

Its been a while since I last visited the restaurant so I decided to check it out this morning, and I’m glad I did because I almost forgot how good it is.

I had the Pork Bun and French Toast, which together was very heavy. I would’ve had the “Stockings Milk Tea” as well, but that would’ve been a perfect recipe if you wanted to feel bloated the entire day. As odd as the name suggests, Stockings Milk Tea is basically tea (usually in the form of red tea, or in some instances, even Earl Grey) filtered through clean stockings (or stocking-like material) before milk is added. The process makes the milk tea ultra fine and quite “smooth” to drink.

Other notable dishes at Lan Fong Yuen is their Chicken Steak & Instant Noodle (without the soup) otherwise known as “lo mien” (撈麵) and their macaroni and ham in soup. Check it out!

Lan Fong Yuen (蘭芳園)
G/F., 4A-6 Gage Street, Central, Hong Kong
香港島中環結志街2號 (總店)
地址: 中環結志街4A-6號 (分店)
Tel: +852 2544 3895
Fax: +852 2854 0731

One Response

  1. […] what happened to Lan Fong Yuen (蘭芳園)?! Some say they’ve already proved themselves and they see no need for this kind of promotion. […]

Leave a Reply

