Shanghai Gastronomical Trip

Its been 10 months since I left Shanghai, after having lived there for more than 2.5 years (June 2005 to November 2007). I decided to go back for a one-week visit to catch up with friends, meet several business partners and to embark, of course, on a gastronomy tour across Shanghai.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to update my blog when I was in Shanghai. I can visit WordPress but can’t go any deeper into individual blogs; so much for press f_e_d_m during the Olympics!

In the following entries, you’ll find posts I’ve written earlier in the week but I’m posting it now. Here, you might be able to find some restaurants to try next time you’re in Shanghai.

For now, here’s a photo of the Shanghai Meglev’s top speed of 301 km/hour at night (as opposed to 421 km/hour during the day) on my way to the city.

Unlike the Hong Kong Airport Express, however, the Meglev takes you from the airport to the middle of nowhere – Longyang Station, to be exact, which you’ll need to then take the subway to the city. As much as I like the idea of Shanghai being the first city in the world to put Meglev into commercial use, it could use a little more practicality.

Leave a Reply

