Final Note on Shanghai Trip

Alas, the trip was far too short and due to circumstances, I wasn’t able to choose restaurants I would like to go to. I went to Bali Laguna for their Thai food and Element Fresh for their relatively healthy alternative – where I saw Chris Bosh and Dwight Howard (they were in town for some friendly matches before making their way to Beijing for the Games), but neither visits deserved a post. Actually, the service as Bali Laguna was horrible.

The list of restaurants I had wanted to try for the first time, or restaurants which I would like to go back remains long … very long.

Just off the top of my head, restaurant I would like to go back includes: South Beauty, Yu Xin Chuan Cai, Moon River, Laris, M on the Bund, Jean Georges, MoonSha, Jia Jia Tang Bao (the best xiao long bao in town), Jade on 36, Pingchuan, Fu 1039, 1221, Haiku, Karaku (TEMPURA!!!) and the list goes on and on …

Restaurant I would like to try? Well, don’t even get my started!

The point is Shanghai is becoming a city with an increasing number of world-class, quality restaurants that deserves some write-up. The restaurants are also developing at lightning speed; pace so fast it’s hard to play catch up. Lucky for us, Zagat even came up with a Shanghai Restaurants Guide. While it may not be as comprehensive as one for New York, Tokyo or Paris, don’t be surprised to find one of that calibre for Shanghai in the next couple of years.

Stay tuned for more about Shanghai here at Siu Yeh! If you’re making a visit to Shanghai and would like some recommendations on where to go for food or fun, drop me a message!

Leave a Reply

