Siu Yeh Turns 1 Year Old!

Time for reflection? Maybe. An excuse to celebrate? Absolutely!

Birthday Cake for Me / Siu Yeh from Sparkz!

Birthday Cake for Me / Siu Yeh from Sparkz!

*This birthday cake really was baked from scratch from an extremely talented chef at Sparkz for me (my birthday isn’t too far off from Siu Yeh’s bday). Thanks also to Albert :)

With traffic numbers in the low 6 digits, 160+ posts and 250+ comments later, Siu Yeh officially turns 1 year old on July 24th. Can’t believe it’s already been a year since I started randomly writing about food … and what started as an experiment turned out to be so much more than that. And that’s all thanks to you, most of whom didn’t even have a clue about Siu Yeh, but randomly stumbled across my blog through Google, links or word-of-mouth, etc. but continued to stick around afterwards.

Its kind of funny that whatever useless ratings and comments I give to restaurants turn out to be somewhat decently useful for some people (thanks for writing back!) … and its good, especially for my ego, to know that I had some influence in your decision-making. That in itself is what fuels this blog I think, coz heck dude … someone once told me you can make money from advertising in blogs? I thought … oh, that’d be a bonus! But it really is next to impossible for food blogs to do any kind of promotion for anything (other than marketing toilet brushes for housewifes reading my articles) because advertisement related to restaurants would most definitely be taboo here. Its a little different from blogs for gadgets or cosmetics  … well … debatable.

But having said all of that, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

It is also amusing to have met other foodies and commented with them within the *ahem* Foodies Blogosphere, which is quite a bit bigger than I had originally thought. Actually, I didn’t know such a thing existed … but food bloggers really is a force to be reckoned with and I’ve, randomly enough, found myself to be a part of this gigantic spinning wheel. I never intentionally meet anyone online, that’s like really dodgy … and even though I’ve never met in person, KennyT, Cha Xiu Bao, Helen from WFG, e_ting, laowai … I feel like I know them already. I better stop before this becomes too gay. This almost sounds like a last post.

So, what do I intend to do with this blog in the coming months?

Well, I was thinking maybe its time for an overhaul / complete redesign of the site – it looks like crap I know. I was thinking maybe I’ll start to write properly too – perhaps like a real journalist or a better food critic. Most of the time, I don’t really describe the food in as much detail as I would like, which is what Siu Yeh should be about. Maybe I’ll write a little more about wine, which has been a new passion of mine … I know, Siu Yeh is evolving a little bit and is doing slightly more than what it was set out to do.

Anyway, thanks for the support from friends, fellow bloggers and just random folks wanting to find out a little more about the restaurant they’ll be visiting tonight – I hope my blog is worthwhile for you.

Thanks,
j

PS. And even to that restaurant who threatened to sue Siu Yeh a couple months back, if you’re reading this … you are forgiven. Its all about love here lol … goodness me, this is a tribute to MJ too. Long live the King!

PPS. Yes, I’ll continue to be anonymous, thanks for asking. I like the mystery surrounding my own identity.

PPPS. Tim, happy birthday to you too!

PPPPS. Does any one have contacts for companies promoting toilet brushes? I’d love to offer Siu Yeh as a great advertising platform to promote their products.

8 Responses

  1. Happy blogoversary

  2. Gung Hei! I’m a regular reader too, keep it up!

  3. Congrats on your first birthday! I remember when you first started blogging (seems so long ago). Keep up the great work and happy eating…

  4. Hey Folks, thanks for the messages! “Blogoversary” … I like that term :)

  5. congrats! and yes, it IS great to have met you in the blogosphere!!

  6. woot woot!

  7. HAHAHAHAHAH :) good job j.

  8. love your blog.it’s what i’m looking for-what a hongkonger eats and where.got yr site through chowhound not google

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

